How Do I Disconnect or Reconnect a Number?

Follow

Chase Greiser

Updated

This article references the ‘New’ interface in the Bandwidth Dashboard. Looking for the ‘Classic’ experience? Click here!

Users may disconnect or reconnect a phone number on the 'Phone Number Details' page. Disconnecting a phone number simply means to remove it from the customer account entirely.

Any disconnected number will immediately become inactive, and will be re-provisioned automatically to Bandwidth’s ‘aging’ account.

Perform the following steps to search for active phone numbers on an account: 

  1. On the Home page of the Bandwidth Dashboard, navigate to the 'Search telephone numbers' tool.
  2. Type the phone number into the box and click 'Search'.
  3. On the results screen, click the blue telephone number link.
This will take you to the 'Phone Number Details' page. On the right side of the page, click 'Disconnect'

Screen_Shot_2019-11-15_at_1.02.11_PM.png

If a number has been disconnected inadvertently, it may be reconnected immediately on the same screen, or by searching for the phone number again and selecting to reconnect it. If the number has been disconnected for longer than 72-hours, it will no longer appear in any search results and may not be able to be reconnected. Please open a ticket with the Bandwidth Account Management team if there is a need to attempt to reconnect a number. We can never guarantee the reconnect of a telephone number. 

Screen_Shot_2019-11-15_at_1.03.47_PM.png

Article is closed for comments.